Every Golden Boy winner from 2003 to 2022

Gavi won the Golden Boy award in 2022

The Golden Boy award is a prestigious honour bestowed upon the best young footballer in Europe under the age of 21.

The nominees for this award are selected based on their performances for their respective clubs and countries for a calendar year (January to December).

This award was first established by the Italian sports newspaper called Tuttosport in 2003 when Rafael van der Vaart first won it.

Who has won it since then right up until 2022?

BestofBets take a look!

Every Golden Boy winner in history from 2003 to 2022






2003 Rafael van der Vaart Netherlands Ajax MID 1983
2004 Wayne Rooney England Everton, Manchester United FW 1985
2005 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona FW 1987
2006 Cesc Fàbregas Spain Arsenal MID 1987
2007 Sergio Agüero Argentina Atlético Madrid FW 1988
2008 Anderson Brazil Manchester United MID 1988
2009 Alexandre Pato Brazil AC Milan FW 1989
2010 Mario Balotelli Italy Inter Milan, Manchester City FW 1990
2011 Mario Götze Germany Borussia Dortmund MID 1992
2012 Isco Spain Málaga MID 1992
2013 Paul Pogba France Juventus MID 1993
2014 Raheem Sterling England Liverpool FW 1994
2015 Anthony Martial France AS Monaco, Manchester United FW 1995
2016 Renato Sanches Portugal Benfica, Bayern Munich MID 1997
2017 Kylian Mbappé France Monaco, Paris Saint-Germain FW 1998
2018 Matthijs de Ligt Netherlands Ajax DEF 1999
2019 João Félix Portugal Benfica FW 1999
2020 Erling Haaland Norway Borussia Dortmund FW 2000
2021 Pedri Spain Barcelona MID 2002
2022 Gavi Spain Barcelona MID 2004

The 2023 Golden Boy award will be announced at the Ballon d’Or ceremony which takes place in October.

You can check out more content like this in our comprehensive BestofBets’ football section.

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.